TeamFox

Web: www.mentalchallenge.biz Email: NathanFox@TeamFox.biz

Mental Fitness Challenge, week 4

A few years back, I was sitting with my wife Mary and my daughter Sammi. I announced I was going to run the Akron marathon, which was 5 months from that date. To a polished marathoner’s family that wouldn’t be a big deal, to my family, different story, with good reason. I was about 40 lbs. overweight, with bad eating habits and hadn’t worked out in a long time, let alone the fact that I never ran farther than 3 miles before in my life. Let’s just say that was the last thing anyone thought they would hear come out of my mouth.

You might be wondering what this has to do with the mental fitness challenge, (hang in there I’m getting to the point.) I got up the day after I told my family my intentions and went out to start my journey as a runner. (It was ugly!!) I couldn’t run a half mile, I had no idea how far 26.2 miles was and I had no idea how to train for it.

Along comes Buck, a friend from the gym who is an accomplished runner,( Buck is the kind of guy that if he had a couple extra hours before lunch, he will go run 20 miles.) Buck gave me training advice, a program and encouragement about my journey. He ran with me and kept my thinking right. Those first 3 weeks of training were really just figuring myself out. Look at it like getting out the cob webs, clearing the garbage out of my brain, making sure all my limbs still functioned properly. Starting week 4 was when I really started to see the big picture, much like I’m doing right now with the Mental Fitness Challenge.

These first 21 days of the Challenge have been all about creating the habits needed to make a positive change. I’m building the confidence needed and putting the habits in place for the journey I’m embarking on. We met at our Challenge group meeting on Tuesday, I got advice and support on the real life application of what this Fitness Challenge could do for me and my future. I felt like I did when Buck started helping me with my marathon training. Building habits and confidence, clearing the weeds out of my brain, (making sure everything is still wired right in there.)

Now that I have the starting point and a clean slate to work with I am even more excited about continuing my Mental Fitness Challenge, and developing more of the tools to live the life I’ve always wanted.

In case you are wondering, yes I ran the Akron marathon, my family and friends were waiting for me at the finish, I didn’t set any records, but I can say for the rest of my life that I did it.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Mental Fitness Challenge, week 4

  1. James Pyka on said:

    Nate,
    Very inspirational post. I agree after the first few weeks in the challange we have also noticed a lot of great habits being formed. Keep leading and let’s conquer that marathon together…
    James

  2. fter study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.
    http://www.KneeNeckBackPain.com/

  3. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so
    much, However I am going through troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting similar RSS issues? Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

